Facebook reach

 

In this post, we looked at the algorithm Facebook uses to decide who see the content you post to your organization’s page. Countless schools and other organizations use a Facebook page to communicate with stakeholders. The problem is that most of those stakeholders will never see that material.

Once someone likes our page, every time we post to Facebook, it will show up in that person’s news feed.” Sounds logical, doesn’t it? After all, that’s the whole purpose for the system of “Likes,” isn’t it?

While it sounds logical, nothing could be further from the truth. Facebook has an algorithm that determines who sees your material and in what amount. Understanding their reasoning is one way to increase your reach.

In the earlier post, we talked about Facebook’s argument that just because someone “Liked” your page that one time does not mean that person wants to see everything you post. Their algorithm deals with how someone engages with your page. The most engagement, the more interested Facebook sees that person, and the more of your posts he or she will see on the news feed.

What does engagement mean?
Facebook looks at four elements:

1. How often does someone “Like” your individual posts?
2. How often does someone comment on your individual posts?
3. How often does someone share your individual posts?
4. How often does someone click the links in your individual posts?

A second way to increase engagement

This second strategy is too easy not to suggest to your stakeholders. It has to do with people doing one more thing after “Liking” your page.

"Facebook engagement"

 

Once a person clicks “Like,” mousing over the “Like” button (or clicking the drop-down arrow) brings up a menu. Your followers should click “Get Notifications.” Every time you post,  your stakeholders get a notification about your new content.

Facebook_Notifications2

 

Why not give this technique a try with my Facebook page? Go over to Facebook.com/DrFrankBuck. If you have not already done so, “Like” the page. Then, mouse over the “Liked” button and choose “Get Notifications.”